Home

Hi y’all,

My name is Karan, and I am your 2012-2013 Region VII Vice Chair. Even though I like using the word y’all, I am not from the South, but an East Cost guy for most of my life. I grew up in New Jersey and eventually I’ve found my way to Albany Medical College, where I am a 2nd year student. I have not had the typical pre-med to medical school route, with stops in Boston, time off to complete my MPH, and some time spent in health politics.
But that circuitous route has only developed and further affirmed my passion for making a difference in health through policy and advocacy. The grueling curriculum we go through as medical students and countless hours we devote to learning the science of medicine is only part of our potential impact as physicians. From access to healthy foods to a patient’s level of education to proper incentives for physicians, there is nothing in this world that is more multifactorial than health. And the AMA-MSS is the organization where we can build the networks to deliver the environment and infrastructure for successful medicine to be achieved, now and in the future.
I look forward to working with all of you this year, and I hope many of you will be able to make it to our Annual Region Meeting in Syracuse, NY: January 11th – 13th, 2013.
Cheers,
Karan
Leave a Reply

